Balloting will close at 6:59 EST on Sunday February 26th, 2017

What a year at the movies! Congrats to this years biggest movers, Karen, Syndee and Abbe. Till next year, we will see you at the movies!

The Details

The Farellington Oscar Ballots this year will be weighted, when the dust settles the family member with the highest score wins!

The trophy (Otis) is packed ready for a new home, so pick (guess) carefully. 

Ballots are weighted in the following categories:

  • 10 points: (10 total)
    Best Picture
  • 5 points: (25 total) 
    Leading Actor, Supporting Actor, Leading Actress, Supporting Actress, and Directing
  • 3 points: (27 total)
    Animated Feature, Cinematography, Adapted Screenplay, Original Screenplay, Costume Design, Makeup and Hairstyling, Original Score, Original Song, and Visual Effects
  • 1 point: (8 total) 
    Documentary Feature, Documentary Short, Foreign Language Film, Production Design, Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film, Sound Editing, and Sound Mixing.

For a grand total of 70 possible points!

The Ceremony will be televised on ABC February 26th, 2017 | 8:30pm EST. Sarah and I will be watching in Salt Lake City this year. 

The Farell Trophy has changed a lot over the last seven years. Originally  a coconut now a little golden man named Otis
he has a marble base, and past winners carefully immortalized  with a "Avery" label maker; classy!

Past Winners

2008 - Bryan Farevaag
2009 - Bryan Farevaag
2010 - Sarah Ellington
2011 - Karen Farevaag
2012 - Bryan Farevaag
2013 - Sarah Farevaag
2014 - Bryan Farevaag
2015 - Sarah Farevaag
2016 - Sarah Farevaag
2017 - Bryan Farevaag

This years Winner: ???
This years Ass:???

The Prizes

This year there will be three prizes, one for the winner (in addition to the Farell Trophy), first loser and the donkeys ass! Right now they are mysteries to even me, but trust I will make them worth the effort!

The Results 2017

The Winner: Bryan 18 | 54 pts
First Loser(s):
Sarah 17 | 51 pts
Donkey's Ass: Judy 5 | 11 pts

Bryan 54 pts
Sarah 51 pts
Karen 49 pts
Syndee 43 pts
Abbe 31 pts
Rob 18 pts
Frank 16 pts
Herman 16 pts
Judy 11 pts

Of Note: Karen and Abbe were the only ones to get Best Picture correct after the slip up. 

It was a much tighter field then previous years, which is fantastic! I hope that everyone enjoyed their time at the cinema
till next year! I will see you at the movies.


2017 Farell Ballot:

Name *
Best Supporting Actor *
Best Costume Design *
Best Makeup & Hairstyling *
Best Foreign Film *
Best Live Short Film *
Best Documentary Short *
Best Sound Mixing *
Best Sound Editing *
Best Supporting Actress *
Best Visual Effects *
Best Animated Short Film *
Best Animated Feature *
Best Production Design *
Best Cinematography *
Best Film Editing *
Best Documentary Feature *
Best Original Song *
Best Original Score *
Best Original Screenplay *
Best Adapted Screenplay *
Best Director *
Best Actor *
Best Actress *
Best Picture *
Shipping address for winnings
Shipping address for winnings